Monday, May 7, 2018

SSC CGL Selection Process 2018 Through Tier 1, 2, 3, 4 (Updated)

SSC CGL Selection Process
Every year huge numbers of candidates appear for SSC CGL Exam and go through the selection rounds. SSC CGL exam is divided into four stages i.e. Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and finally Tier 4. Here we are providing complete details about SSC CGL Selection Process 2018. Eligible candidates can only apply through updated Tier 1, 2, 3, 4.

SSC CGL Notification gets the release from time to time and number of doubts gets so curious to know about SSC CGL selection process. Here the team of sarkarinaukricareer.inis providing detailed information and various steps involved in the selection of SSC CGL Exam. Please have a look on complete information.

Read:  SSC CGL 2018 - 19 Apply Online 

SSC CGL Selection Process brief details:
Organization Name Staff Selection Commission
Exam Name CGL Tier 1, 2, 3, 4
Category Selection Process
Official Site

Selection Procedure:
  • SSC CGL exam is divided into four stages i.e. Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and finally Tier 4.
  • Applicants, who qualify in Tier 1, will be eligible to appear in Tier 2.
  • Aspirants, who qualify in Tier 2, will be eligible to appear in both Tier 3 and Tier 4.
  • Final merit of SSC CGL will be on the basis of increasing marks of Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3.
  • Tier 4 is of qualifying nature and compulsory for CSS/MEA/ Tax Assistant posts.

Read: ऐसे करे SSC CGL परीक्षा के लिए तैयारी

SSC CGL Tier I Selection Procedure
  • Tier 1 consists of four subjects i.e. Quantitative Aptitude, English, Reasoning, and General Knowledge.
  • It is a computer based MCQ type exam with 100 questions (25 of each subject) with a time limit of 60 minutes.
  • Each question is of 2 marks
  • Every question carries a negative of 0.5 marks on marking the wrong answer.

  • Tier 1 is not just a qualifying paper or in other words score of Tier 1 is added in making qualifying list for Tier 2 exam as well as in the preparation of final merit list.
  • Hence a mark snatched in Tier 1 is really an enormous help up to final selection process.
  • Many a student score high in Tier 1 and able to grab a name in the final list even if their Tier 2 is reasonably scored.
  • Hence a good score in Tier 1 not only benefits you till the end but also make a confidence in Tier 2 and following procedure in candidates.

Tier 1 Pattern
Subject No. of Questions Maximum Marks Time
Reasoning 25 50 60 minutes
General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200

SSC CGL Tier II Selection Process
  • SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam is the most essential and decision-making exam among all Tiers.
  • It contains two papers namely Quantitative Aptitude and English Comprehension 
  • Both exam comprises of 200 marks each.
  • This Tier 2 contains a total of 400 marks hence plays a important role in selection.
  • Those students score standard marks in Tier1 and good marks in Tier2 are able to make a position in final merit list.
  • Students who have filled Statistical Investigator and Assistant Audit/Accounts Officer during application will also have to appear for Paper 3 and Paper 4 respectively.

Read: कैसे करे बिना कोचिंग के Competition Exam की तैयारी - जानिये

Tier 2 Pattern
Papers Subject No. of Questions Maximum Marks Time
(in hours)
Paper –I Quantitative
100 200 2 hours
Paper –II English
200 200 2 hours
Paper - III Statistics 100 200 2 hours
Paper – IV General Studies
(Economic & Finance)
100 200 2 hours

For all Posts:
  • Applicants appearing for Tier - II have to take Paper - I and Paper - II.
  • Candidates, who have filled Statistical Investigator Post have to take Paper - I, Paper - II and Paper - III.
  • Candidates who have filled Assistant Audit/Accounts Officer Post have to take Paper - I, Paper - II and Paper -IV

Read: SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2018 Tier 1, 2, 3, 4

Candidates who have filled posts of Statistical Investigator and AAO, have to appear in all Paper - I, Paper - II, Paper - III and Paper - IV.

Selection Process of SSC CGL Exam Tier 3
  • SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam will be of Descriptive in Nature
  • Exam consists of 100 marks.
  • In this exam, Essay/ Application /Letter/ Precis/ Report – Writings will be asked.
  • This exam is not only of qualifying nature (at least 33 marks out of 100) but also included in final merit list making.
  • This Tier is begin by scrapping interview for this reason basic objective of this tier 3 exam is to check personality as well as writing skills of a candidate which is much essential for a person to serve any government department all over India.
  • All candidates need to appear in Tier 3 Exam after qualifying SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam.
  • This Tier gives a last golden chance for those candidates who are unsatisfied with their performance in Tier1 and Tier2.
  • A student with good writing skills can make a huge difference in this Tier3 even after an average score in Tier1 and Tier2..

Read: मैंने कैसे Crack किया SSC CGL - आप भी जानिये !!!

SSC CGL Selection Process for Tier 4
  • Applicants who will qualify SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam and appear in SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam need to appear in SSC CGL  Tier 4 Exam.
  • This Tier 4 is of qualifying nature
  • No marks will be added in final merit list.
  • If a candidate fails in CPT or DEST Test he/she will not be considered for the respective posts
  • As per latest notification, CPT is mandatory for many inspectors as well as assistant posts
  • Importance of Tier 4 is no less than any other Tier.

 Tier 4 Exam Pattern
Skill Test For the posts of
Computer Proficiency Test(CPT) ·         Assistant Section Officer (CSS), Assistant Section Officer (MEA)  Assistant in Serious Fraud Investigation Office (SFIO) under M/o Corporate Affairs,
·         Assistant (GSI) in Ministry of  Mines
·         Inspector (Central Excise)
·         Inspector (Preventive Officer)
·         Inspector (Examiner)
DEST Tax Assistant (CBDT & CBEC)

  • CPT is made mandatory for Inspector (Central Excise), Inspector (Preventive Officer) and Inspector (Examiner)
  • Final Selection for All posts will be done on the basis of merit list of Tier 1+ Tier 2+ Tier 3.

Important Note:
Official Site: Check here

Read: Latest Notification From SSC Examination